Announcements Press Releases

Joint Letter calling on the Government of Canada to Invoke Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act (Sergei Magnitsky Sanctions) against PRC & Hong Kong Officials

Dear Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Deputy Prime Minister Chrystia Freeland, Minister François-Philippe Champagne,

We, the signatories, call on the Government of Canada to invoke Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act (Sergei Magnitsky Law) S.C. 2017, c. 21 against individuals who are directly responsible for the human rights atrocities happening in Tibet, occupied East Turkestan (Xinjiang), and Hong Kong.

As a leader on the international human rights discussion, to invoke Magnitsky sanctions against these officials is a strong and symbolic action that is consistent with how Canada has applied this act in the past.

As suggested by our very own Minister of Foreign Affairs, François-Philippe Champagne:

“Sanctions are an important tool to hold perpetrators of gross human rights violations to account.”

Canada needs to take a strong stance against blatant human rights atrocities and coordinate a multilateral effort amongst countries with shared values to reclaim our leadership on the Global stage.

To add your signature, please email [email protected]

Community Groups:

  • Abdulahat Nur, Vice President, East Turkestan Government in Exile
  • Action Free Hong Kong Montreal (滿地可撐香港行動組)
  • Alliance Canada Hong Kong
  • Canadian Friends of Hong Kong (加拿大香港之友)
  • Dawa Jongdong, President of Tibetan Women Association of Ontario
  • Friends of Hong Kong Calgary
  • Friends of Hong Kong Edmonton
  • Halifax Hong Kong Link
  • International Support for Uyghurs
  • Jonathan Fon, President of the Canadian Asian Community Think Tank
  • McGill Students for a Free Tibet
  • McMaster Stands With HK
  • Ontario Universities Hong Kong Awareness Group
  • Ottawa Post-Secondary Institutions’ Hong Kong Awareness Group (渥學繫港)
  • Ottawans Stand with Hong Kong (Ottaviens en solidarité avec Hong Kong, 渥太華人撐香港)
  • Patricia Adams, Executive Director, Probe International
  • Professor David Welch, University of Waterloo
  • Saskatchewan Stands with Hong Kong
  • Sherap Therchin, Executive Director of Canada Tibet Committee
  • Toronto Association for Democracy in China (多倫多支持中國民運會)
  • Torontonians Stand with Hong Kong (多倫多人撑香港)
  • Tsering Wangyal, President of Canadian Tibetan Association of Ontario
  • University of Toronto Hong Kong Extradition Law Awareness Group
  • Vancouver Hong Kong Political Activists (思政學陣)
  • Vancouver Society in Support of Democratic Movement (溫哥華支援民主運動聯合會(溫支聯))
  • Vancouver Uyghur Association
  • Vancouverites Concerned About Hong Kong
  • Waterloo Lion Rock Spirit


  • MP Alain Rayes
  • MP Alexis Brunelle-Duceppe
  • MP Arnold Viersen
  • MP Bob Zimmer
  • MP Brad Vis
  • Mayor Brad West
  • MP Cathay Wagantall
  • MP Cathy McLeod
  • MP Chris Warkentin
  • MP Colin Carrie
  • MP Dan Albas
  • MP Dane Lloyd
  • MP David Sweet
  • MP Dean Allison
  • MP Derek Sloan
  • MP Earl Dreeshen
  • MP Ed Fast
  • MP Elizabeth May
  • MP Erin O’Toole
  • MP Garnett Genuis
  • MP Glen Motz
  • MP Greg McLean
  • MP James Bezan
  • MP Jamie Schmale
  • MP Jasraj Singh Hallan
  • MP Jenica Atwin
  • MP Jenny Kwan
  • MP Jeremy Patzer
  • MP John Barlow
  • MP John McKay
  • MP John Williamson
  • MP Judy A. Sgro
  • MP Kelly Block
  • MP Kelly McCauley
  • MP Kenny Chiu
  • MP Kerry Diotte
  • MP Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay
  • MP Kevin Waugh
  • MP Kyle Seeback
  • MP Larry Maguire
  • MP Len Webber
  • Senator Leo Housakos
  • MP Leona Alleslev
  • Senator Linda Frum
  • MP Luc Berthold
  • MP Marc Dalton
  • Senator Marilou McPhedran
  • MP Marty Morantz
  • MP Matt Jeneroux
  • MP Mel Arnold
  • MP Michael Barrett
  • MP Michael Cooper
  • MP Michael Kram
  • MP Mike Lake
  • MP Nathaniel Erskine-Smith
  • MP Nelly Shin
  • MP Pat Kelly
  • MP Paul Manly
  • MP Peter MacKay
  • Former MP Peter Milliken
  • MP Phil McColeman
  • Senator Pierre J. Dalphond
  • MP Pierre Paul-Hus
  • MP Rachael Harder
  • MP Raquel Dancho
  • MP Richard Bragdon
  • MP Scott Aitchison
  • MP Stéphane Bergeron
  • MP Stephanie Kusie
  • MP Tako Van Popta
  • MP Tamara Jansen
  • MP Ted Falk
  • MP Todd Doherty
  • MP Tom Kmiec
  • MP Tony Baldinelli
  • MP Tracy Gray
  • MP Warren Steinley
  • MP Yasmin Ratansi